View Single Post
Old September 1, 2011, 12:24 AM
Rookie

Default First Time Build Questions

Hi, I'm a complete novice currently trying to put together a build at NCIX. With the help of people on the forums there I have a pretty good idea of which components I would like to use, but still have a lot of questions. When searching for reviews on a lot of the components I was considering, I ended up at Hardware Canucks time and again and am hoping it wouldn't hurt to post some questions on the forums here.

I will use the system for gaming, photoshop, and have been thinking about getting an HD video camera. I am trying to stay under $2500 Canadian. I prefer Intel systems and will be using an older 5 speaker/sub woofer, keyboard, mouse, and 19" ultra-sharp (which will be upgraded to 23" ultra-sharp in the near future which I would like use at 1920 x1080.) I have been searching forums and reading reviews as much as possible for the past couple of weeks. I don't want to rule out overclocking, but probably won't if the system runs everything I need it for well enough. I plan to order it assembled as soon as possible, but just need to learn a little more before making the final decision.

I realize some of the components might be overkill for the uses I have mentioned, but want to leave options open in the chance I might become more of an extreme gamer. Here is what I have so far, I'll post questions at the bottom. This site has been a great help so far and I plan to keep coming back to learn as much as I can. Hopefully one day I will be able to confidently choose components for future builds and assemble them myself. But for now I hope those who are more knowledgeable would be kind enough to help get my first attempt at a build right, it would be greatly appreciated.

CPU: Intel i5 2500K 3.3 GHz

CPU Cooler: Noctua NH-D14

Motherboard: ASUS P8Z68-V Pro Z68

Memory: Corsair Vengeance Lowprofile 8GB 2x4GB DDR3-1600

GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 580 Fermi 772MHZ 1536MB