Thread: Hehe...
View Single Post
Old May 1, 2010, 12:16 AM
Allstar

My System Specs

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jake_HT View Post
I don't know why these arguments always show up. MS is better for the majority of the world, it shows in their MUCH larger market share. People want more value for their money, which is exactly what Apple is not.

I don't like Mac cause I can do more for less with my windows PC... I'm not a programmer, neither is like 99.99% of the world.. so how is that argument relevant to how good overall an operating system is?

Certain things are good for certain things. For a home/student PC/laptop at a good price, Apple just doesn't quite make sense. Which is why it is how it is.
The market is only driven by the marketing and nothing else. Just ask yourself how Vista actually managed to be sold even if it was one of the worst thing I personally have the "chance" to touch and even after all the bad reviews -still- kept selling and bloating the market? Ads and MS telling people that it is good and "trust us" by simply backing themselves with their imposing stature in the OS industry and nothing else.
Saying it's better by looking at the share just raises in me my good old economically inaccurate analogy stating that it's not because, let say, that 80% of the stuff sold around here is cheap poorly made stuff that it's actually the best, no, it's just cheap stuff that people jump on because they think it's a good deal, but it's far from being true. Sure in the OS departement you don't have a really big choice, but still MS has not the best to offer. (masters in economic don't quote me please :P)

Btw, OSX is about 1/4 to 1/10 of a normal windows cd... so the price/value of the OS, since we are talking about this, is way better with Apple on that.