View Single Post
Old December 29, 2007, 05:39 PM
Top Prospect

Question Newbie Water Cooling Build -- Opinions?

Hi guys. I'm fairly new to water cooling, so I was hoping a few of you water-cooling veterans could look over my build and possibly suggest a better setup before I purchase everything. I appreciate any replys :).

I've read a bunch of WC FAQs and tried to build the best loop I could. Tubing is absent since I can't seem to find any 1/2" tubing or clamps online. A trip to Home Hardware / Home Depot / Whatever should fix that.

Main Stuff:

CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
Motherboard: ASUS P5N32-E SLI - Seemed to be the only nice SLI motherboard. I have been recommended the newer 780i and am very tempted to switch to it.
RAM: 2x Crucial Ballistix 2GB 2X1GB DDR2-1066 - This should overclock like a mofo, right? Not sure if i want to go 4GB since I'll only be using XP 32-bit.
VC: 2x EVGA E-GEFORCE 8800GTS Crysis Edition 512MB -
HD: 3x Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 3.5IN 500GB in RAID5
HD: 2x Western Digital Raptor 74GB in RAID0 - These are probably overkill. I'm tempted to remove one or both of them due to cost.
PSU: Silverstone Zeus ST75ZF 750W
NIC: Intel PRO/1000 Pt
ODD: Samsung SH-S203N Black SATA
Card Reader: nGear Flash Card Reader 3.5IN Internal USB
Case: Silverstone Temjin TJ07-B Black E-ATX Aluminum Case

I threw in a few Antec Spot Cool fans for cooling the ram and chipset. I also grabbed a couple tubes of MX-7.

And now the water cooling stuff:

CPU Block: D-TEK Customs Fuzion CPU Water Block - This seems to be VERY popular.
VGA Block(s): 2x EK-FC88 w/ Acetal Top (Going to have to order this direct from EK)
Pump: Swiftech MCP655 12V - Changed to this from the -B version since it is stuck on the fourth speed setting.
Reservoir: Swiftech MCRES-MICRO Clear HI-FLOW Water Cooling Reservoir - Seemed to be the only one available that wasn't gigantic.